Radiation Oncology

Department News

Emory's Department of Radiation Oncology has earned the prestigious Accreditation Program for Excellence (APEx) distinction from the American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) for four Winship Cancer Institute locations.

Emory University School of Medicine’s Department of Radiation Oncology appointed Hania A. Al-Hallaq, PhD, as the new vice chair and division chief of medical physics, effective January 1.

Reshma Jagsi, MD, DPhil, Lawrence W. Davis professor and chair of radiation oncology at the Emory University School of Medicine, has been awarded the 2023 American Association for Women in Radiology (AAWR) Marie Sklodowska-Curie Award.

Winship News

Emory University is among the top 20 in the nation overall for institutional funding from the National Institutes of Health. The School of Medicine, School of Nursing and School of Public Health were also in the top 20 in their categories.

Madhu Behera, a nationally recognized leader in cancer informatics and data science, has been named Emory University’s inaugural chief research informatics officer, effective Feb. 1, 2024.

Three Emory faculty members have been elected to the American Society for Clinical Investigation, one of the nation’s oldest and most respected medical honor societies for physician-scientists.