Each fall, faculty members are recognized for their accomplishments and eminence in patient care, research, and education. The week is capped off with the Celebration of Faculty Eminence ceremony and reception.

The Emory at Grady Professional Development Committee created the Emory at Grady Awards to honor the community of Grady-based faculty members. 

2022 MD Senior Awards

Eldon Langston Bolton, MD Service Award Rebecca Goldstein

The award was established in 1990 in honor of Dr. Eldon Bolton. He graduated from Emory School of Medicine in 1932 and went on to practice medicine in Biloxi, Mississippi for more than 50 years. The Bolton Service Award honors a senior medical student who has exhibited outstanding service within and beyond the Emory University community.

Outstanding Achievement in Basic Science Award Bejan Saeedi

The award is given to a graduating senior who, in the opinion of a committee of faculty, has excelled in the overall study a of the basic sciences throughout his or her medical school career. This year this award is given to a student who has done outstanding work during both the MD and PhD portions of the curriculum.

Burt and Betty Schear Book Award Amy Scheel

This award provides an opportunity to recognize a special student who has the spark, the common sense, and the insight to make a difference. The prize is a coffee table book of photographs illustrating a holistic view of the Earth. The bookplate reads: “For the student most likely to make a uniquely positive mark on his or her universe.”

Evangeline T. Papageorge Student Award Eman Hijab

The award was established to honor the late Dr. Evangeline Papageorge, a very beloved Dean of Students in the School for many years. This award is given to the senior student who is voted by the class as having contributed the most to the betterment of the class over the four years.

Dean's Award Devon Barrett and Bobby Ijeoma

The award was established to honor a student within a graduating class who has done an outstanding job of achieving academic excellence and of exhibiting exceptional performance and dedication as a medical student during their course of study for the MD degree.

Outstanding Genetic Counseling Student of the Year Award Bonnie Marie McKinnon

This award is given to a Genetic Counseling student who has exhibited tremendous growth, embraced all aspects of their training, and have shown faculty, other students, and staff appreciation and support.

Genetic Counseling Best Student Research Presentation Hannah Gabriela Valverde de Morales

This award is given to the Genetic Counseling student who was voted by faculty and staff from the Department of Human Genetics to have given the best presentation of their original research project.

2022 Alumni Awards

Arnall Patz Lifetime Achievement Award Dr. Max Cooper

The award honors distinguished alumni from the Emory School of Medicine who display extraordinary leadership and accomplishment in the field of medicine at the national or international level.

Distinguished Medical Achievement Award Dr. Patrice Harris 98MR

This award is conferred upon an individual who has achieved distinction in research, teaching, medical practice or administration in an academic or public institution.

Distinction in Community Service Award Dr. Mark Holzberg 83M 87MR

The award honors distinguished alumni who have provided extraordinary service to their community, fulfilling the obligations of their education through creative citizenship and exemplary leadership.

Dr. Kanishka Ratnayaka 00M sadly passed away in 2021 and will receive the award posthumously.

Award of Honor Dr. Melinda Lewis 81M 88 MR

This award is conferred upon a medical alumna/alumnus who has demonstrated distinguished service to the Medical Alumni Association, to the Emory School of Medicine, to Emory University or to the profession of medicine.