Student Awards

Christian Freeman, MD Class of 2021 National Medical Association Emerging Scholars Award

The award is given to two African American medical students who have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement, leadership, and potential for distinguished contributions to medicine.

headshot of Chrissy

Ralph Cohen, MD Award for Outstanding Performance in M1 Human Anatomy Grace Moxley and Matthew Studer

American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene Ben Kean Fellows

Point of Light Award Hannah Williams

In 1998, Points of Light Foundation and the Corporation for National and Community Service reinstated the Daily Point of Light Award with a mission to honor those who take action to create change in their communities. Since then, Points of Light has inspired and recognized thousands for their voluntary service and celebrated the impact volunteers have on communities around the world.

Emory Women of Excellence Awards Student Leader of the Year Preetha Nandi

Celebrating women who have demonstrated extraordinary dedication to issues that affect women at Emory or in the larger community

Carolyn Kuchein Research Award Ogul Uner

Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Society (AOA) awards a 3rd year student with the award to support research

Emory Office of LGBT Life Pride Award Chesnut LGBTQ Person of the Year Award Holly Lewis

Established in 2007 by the President’s Commission on Sexuality, Gender Diversity, and Queer Equality, this annual award recognizes a member of Emory University’s LGBT community.

2019 Senior Awards

Eldon Langston Bolton, MD Service Award Tess Kim

The award was established in 1990 in honor of Dr. Eldon Bolton. He graduated from Emory School of Medicine in 1932 and went on to practice medicine in Biloxi, Mississippi for more than 50 years. The Bolton Service Award honors a senior medical student who has exhibited outstanding service within and beyond the Emory University community.

Outstanding Achievement in Basic Science Award Matt Kudelka

The award is given to a graduating senior who, in the opinion of a committee of faculty, has excelled in the overall study a of the basic sciences throughout his or her medical school career. This year this award is given to a student who has done outstanding work during both the MD and PhD portions of the curriculum.

Burt and Betty Schear Book Award Jenna Adams

This award provides an opportunity to recognize a special student who has the spark, the common sense, and the insight to make a difference. The prize is a coffee table book of photographs illustrating a holistic view of the Earth. The bookplate reads: “For the student most likely to make a uniquely positive mark on his or her universe.”

Evangeline T. Papageorge Student Award Marta Bean

The award was established to honor the late Dr. Evangeline Papageorge, a very beloved Dean of Students in the School for many years. This award is given to the senior student who is voted by the class as having contributed the most to the betterment of the class over the four years.

2018-2019 House Staff Organization Professionalism Excellence (HOPE) Award

The HOPE Award was created in 2011 to honor our Emory residents and fellows who demonstrate exceptional professionalism in working with patients and colleagues. The goal of this annual award is to recognize those Emory residents and fellows who excel in collaborating with colleagues across different departments. These are the people you particularly enjoy working with and find extremely helpful when caring for your patients.

Overall Winner Spencer K Hutto (Neurology)

Primary Care 1 (Tie)

Isabel Malone (Emergency Medicine)
Brandon Elliot Giberson (Emergency Medicine)

Primary Care 2 (Tie)

Caitlin Roberson Anderson (Internal Medicine)
Amalia Aldredge (Internal Medicine)

Surgery Nealen Gordon Laxpati (Neurosurgery)

Specialties Denise Fay Chen (Neurology)

Fellows Alfonso Claudiio Hernandez (Infectious Diseases)

2019 Alumni Awards

Award of Honor Omar Lattouf, MD PhD 74C 77G 80M 85MR 88MR

The award is conferred upon a medical alumna/alumnus who has demonstrated distinguished service to the Medical Alumni Association, to the Emory School of Medicine, to Emory University, or to the profession of medicine.


Distinguished Medical Achievement Award Valerie Montgomery Rice, MD 90MR 91MR

The award is conferred upon an individual who has achieved distinction in research, teaching, medical practice, or administration in an academic or public institution.

Arnall Patz Lifetime Achievement Award Robert Guyton, MD

The award honors distinguished alumni from the Emory School of Medicine who display extraordinary leadership and accomplishment in the field of medicine at the national or international level.

Distinction in Community Service Award Robert K. Shuler, Sr., MD 60M 61MR

The award honors dedication to providing medical care to underserved communities.

Emory Women of Excellence Awards Outstanding Alumnae of the Year Nanette Wenger, MD

Celebrating women who have demonstrated extraordinary dedication to issues that affect women at Emory or in the larger community

Emory Medal Kenneth Walker, MD

The Emory Alumni Association awarded a 2018 Emory Medal to Dr. Kenneth Walker 56Ox 58C 63M, who had passed away a week earlier at age 81. The award, the highest alumni honor, was to recognize his untiring service to Emory and the global health community. For the better part of a century Dr. Walker made deep impacts on both the campus and the global community.