Department of Medicine

DEI Leadership Jada Bussey-Jones, MD

Jada Bussey-Jones, MD has nationally recognized educational expertise in the areas of minority health, disparities, as well as patient and provider education to minimize disparities. She has developed several program initiatives addressing health promotion and disease prevention for a largely minority and underserved population in her former role as the Director of the Primary Care Center of Grady Memorial Hospital. She has developed and directed several curricula on cultural competence, disparities, and social determinants of health for students, residents and faculty and was recognized with a 2002 Educational Innovation Award for this work. She chaired the National Disparities Education Task Force for the Society of General Internal Medicine organization and served as editor for a special issue of the Journal of General Internal Medicine dedicated to disparities education. In this role, her leadership resulted in an award-winning national disparities course, web based educational modules, and two national symposia on disparities at both the Society of General Internal Medicine and at the American Association of Medical Colleges.

Jada Bussey-Jones

Kimberly Manning, MD

Kimberly D. Manning, MD has received numerous institutional, regional and national teaching awards. She has a strong passion for storytelling as a means to build and strengthen diverse and humanistic clinical environments as well as cultivating psychologically safe learning climates. In her time as a residency program director, in 2018 she was awarded the prestigious ACGME Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award—given to only 9 program directors annually across all ACGME residency programs in the US. At Emory, she has received the Evangeline Papageorge Award, The Golden Apple Teaching Award, and the Juha P. Kokko Teaching Award—the highest teaching awards in the School of Medicine, Grady Hospital, and Emory’s Internal Medicine Residency Program, respectively. She is also on the board of trustees for the Arnold P. Gold Foundation and is on the editorial board for the Journal of Hospital Medicine. In addition to being a prolific writer of narratives in journals and on Twitter, she co-hosts a podcast called The Human Doctor. The Inglewood, California native is a proud alumnus of two historically Black colleges—Tuskegee University and Meharry Medical College. She applies her lived experiences as a Black American woman, mother, daughter, wife, and community member to all that she does professionally.

Kimberly Manning

DEI Highlights

As the Vice Chair and Associate Vice Chair for DEI for the Department of Medicine, Dr. Bussey-Jones and Dr. Manning have developed and implemented the Emory DOM Strategic Plan, the Visiting Student Clerkship Program, diversity recruitment days, and an annual Health Equity Day. In addition, they have spearheaded the following projects:

  • Diversity dashboard. Developed diversity dashboard to increase transparency and accountability for diversity across the DOM. This dashboard goes beyond traditional diversity related metrics to include turnover, promotion, leadership along with perceptions of inclusion. These data are shared across the DOM.
  • New DEI recognitions. A few examples include URiM Investigator Award, Diversity Award, Health Equity Hackathon/ Case Competition.
  • eGFR lab change. In collaboration with the DOM DEI Council, Division of Renal Medicine faculty, fellows, residents, medical students, and pre-medicine students from the Emory Chapter of the Kidney Disease Screening and Awareness Program successfully advocated to eliminate race-based eGFR reporting at Emory Healthcare.
  • DOM required bias and inclusive leadership for DOM leaders who hire, including program directors and division directors.
  • DOM required bystander and bias training workshops for all residents.
  • Emory Health Career Collaborative. A collaborative program to expose students from diverse background to health careers.

Faculty Awards

Tamara Haynes won best quality poster for health equity day. Danielle Jones, Shelley Fluker, Anna Kho, Maura George, Stacie Schmidt, Antoine Trammell, Lisa Bernstein, Kimberly Manning and Jada Bussey-Jones won best DEI poster for Health Equity Day.

Selected Publications