Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Mario Feldman, PhD

The 2024 Igor Stojiljkovic, MD, PhD, Memorial Lecture 

Title: "Biogenesis of Outer Membrane Vesicles in Gut Bacteria"

Speaker: Mario F. Feldman, PhD
Professor, Department of Molecular Microbiology
Washington University School of Medicine

Location/Time: Monday, April 15, 2024
Whitehead Auditorium
2:00PM-3:00PM (In person and zoom)

Seema Lakdawala

New Academy Election

Congratulations to Dr. Seema Lakdawala for being named a 2024 National Academy of Sciences Kavli Fellow. She was honored at the Kavli Frontiers of Science symposia on March 7-9th in Irvine, California. 

See Story in Emory News Center

Anice Lowen, PhD

New Academy Election

Congratulations to Dr. Anice Lowen who was inducted as a fellow into the 2024 class of the American Academy of Microbiology by the American Society for Microbiology.

New Grant and Publication

Cheryl Day, PhD, Associate Professor at the Emory Vaccine Center and the Department of Microbiology and Immunology received a new NIH R01 grant titled,"Identifying critical determinants of vaccine-induced cellular and humoral immunity from birth through childhood in HIV-exposed and unexposed children". This is an MPI R01 with Jennifer Slyker from University of Washington.

This project will study immune responses to vaccines from birth to 6 years of age in an ongoing cohort of Kenyan children. We will conduct longitudinal modelling of antigen-specific antibody and T cell responses to determine whether maternal immune activation and early-life exposure to the immune-modulating viruses HIV and cytomegalovirus (CMV), as well as other co-infections, nutrition, and intestinal inflammation, affect vaccine-induced immune responses from birth through middle childhood. These data will inform improved vaccination strategies for children living in areas with a high prevalence of HIV, CMV and malnutrition.

Dr. Day also published a paper, "Active tuberculosis is associated with depletion of HIV-specific CD4 and CD8 T cells in people with HIV," in AIDS Res Hum Retroviruses, March 2024.

Chaoran Li, PhD

New Award

Congratulations to Dr. Chaoran Li for receiving the 2024 AAI ASPIRE Award. The purpose of this award is to encourage and foster the development of talented early career AAI member scientists to continue advancing their research activities and scientific contributions in the field of immunology. Additionally, this award aims to enhance the careers of early stage investigators by providing support to disseminate their research via podium presentations at the AAI annual meeting.

Recipients receive complimentary meeting registration, a $2,000 cash award, and travel support to the AAI annual meeting for presentation of their research and the award presentation.


Cody Elkins

Abstract Award

Cody Elkins, IMP graduate student in the Li Lab, won a trainee Abstract award at IMMUNOLOGY2024 and will be one of the Major Symposia speakers at this year’s meeting. This is the first time that students/fellows are being selected to talk at the AAI’s major symposia. 

Julie Pfeiffer, PhD
Keynote Speaker: Julie Pfeiffer, PhD

First Annual M&I Postdoc Symposium

Microbiology and Immunology held its first annual "Postdoc Symposium", October, 2023. The symposium featured talks by postdoctoral fellows and keynote speaker, Julie Pfeiffer, PhD, who gave a talk on, “How bacteria and circadian rhythms influence enteric virus infecKon”.

Cheryl Day, Seema Lakdawala, Anice Lowen

SOM Researcher Appreciation Day 2023

Congratulations to Drs. Cheryl Day, Seema Lakdawala, and Anice Lowen on being selected for SOM Researcher Appreciation Day for 2023.

Headshot images of Luisa Cervantes-Barragan and Byron Au-Yeung

New Grant Award

Congratulations to Dr. Luisa Cervantes-Barragan (Microbiology and Immunology) and Dr. Byron Au-Yeung (Department of Medicine, Winship Cancer Institute) for their Emory University Research Committee (URC) grant award, "Identification of a subpopulation of naive T cells with increased colitogenic potential in human and mice."

Department Administration

Department Chair:
Jeremy M. Boss, PhD
Contact Dr. Boss

Department Administrator:
Matthew Kroll
Contact Matthew

Sr. Program Coordinator:
Jenny O'Neil
Contact Jenny

Office Manager:
Rebecca Masel
Contact Rebecca

Administrative Assistant:
Stacie Copeland
Contact Stacie

Communications Manager/Web Developer:
Harriet Moore
Contact Harriet

Mng Sr Dir, Development:
Jonathan Russell
Contact Jonathan

Events and Seminars

Loading Events...