Department of Emergency Medicine

Emory was well represented at the 2015 National Association of EMS Physicians Annual Conference in New Orleans, LA. 

Emory faculty and colleagues were recipients of NAEMSP awards:

  • Dr. Bryan McNally accepted the NAEMSP “Friends of EMS” Award on behalf of the Cardiac Arrest Registry to Enhance Survival (CARES). This award is presented to an individual or organization that has been an advocate to further NAEMSP 's mission nationally through influencing or implementing public policy. Previous recipients have included Dr. Jeff Runge (NHTSA administrator), Drew Dawson (NHTSA EMS Chief), Dr. Richard Carmona (Former U.S. Surgeon General) and Dr. Richard C. Hunt (National Center for Injury Prevention and Control).
  • Dr. Ingrid Bloom received the NAEMSP EMS Fellow Recognition Award
  • Dr. Sang Do Shin, from Seoul National University Hospital, a friend and colleague of Emory’s Section of Prehospital and Disaster Medicine who recently completed an 18 month sabbatical at Emory Rollins School of Public Health, accepted the Keith Neely Outstanding Contribution to EMS Award, on behalf of himself and Dr. Marcus Ong, a colleague and PAROS collaborator at Singapore General Hospital. This award is presented to members who have provided significant leadership to the association.

Emory faculty were acknowledged for their leadership:

  • The NAEMSP president recognized Drs. Arthur Yancey and Alex Isakov for completing their two-year terms as chairs of the Public Health and Emergency Preparedness Committees, respectively.
  • Dr. Isakov was elected to the NAEMSP Board of Directors.

Emory faculty contributed to the program:

  • NAEMSP held its third annual Emergency Preparedness pre-conference workshop, led by Dr. Alex Isakov. This year speakers explored the impact of the Ebola outbreak in West Africa on healthcare and community preparedness in the US, as well as transport and management of the patient with confirmed or suspected Ebola Virus Disease. Faculty included speakers from the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response, the US Department of State, National Security Council Staff, Emory University, University of Nebraska, AMR and Grady EMS.
  • Dr. Bryan McNally again organized and moderated the CARES (Cardiac Arrest Registry to Enhance Survival)-PAROS (Pan-Asian Resuscitation Outcomes Consortium) meeting, where speakers from the US, Korea, and Japan shared data and experience in initiatives aimed at improving out-of-hospital cardiac arrest.
  • Dr. Bryan McNally hosted the Cardiac Arrest Registry to Enhance Survival Oversight Board meeting with representatives from the Medtronic Foundation, the American Heart Association, the American Red Cross, Zoll Medical Corporation, NAEMSP and Emory University.