Skip Navigation

Our Division

School of Medicine Building

The PA Program functions within the Department of Family and Preventive Medicine of the School of Medicine, part of the Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center.

The Department of Family and Preventive Medicine, one of the clinical departments housed in the School of Medicine has had different names and configurations over the years, but it currently includes five divisions with two residency training programs, and a physician assistant training program.  These divisions are diverse but complementary, and it is both the breadth and depth of our divisions that give our department some of its greatest strengths. The five divisions are: Community Health, Family Medicine, Physician Assistant Program, Preventive Medicine, and the Southeast AIDS Training and Education Center. 

The Community Medicine Division houses four Grady Neighborhood Health Centers, provides community-based primary care services, and serves as a teaching site for medical residents, medical, PA, and advanced practice nursing students. The Family Medicine Division with a residency program provides community-based primary care in a setting designed to provide patient care and medical/health professions training utilizing the Patient Centered Medical Home model of healthcare delivery in collaboration with their behavioral medicine program. Additionally, the Family Medicine faculty and residents have an inpatient service at Emory Hospital at Midtown.  The PA Program Division offers both an entry level and a dual degree (PA-MPH) degree programs, and is well known for its interdisciplinary community service-learning projects.    The Preventive Medicine Division offers a residency program and conducts population-based research in collaboration with the Rollins School of Public Health, the Georgia Department’s of Community Health and Public Health, the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, and the Veteran’s Administration Medical Center.

The Southeast AIDS Training and Education Center is the U.S. Public Health Service-designated AIDS Education and Training Centerfor six southeastern states: Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee.   Their primary mission is to meet the training needs of health care providers in these six states who diagnose and manage patients with HIV, with special focus on minority and minority-serving providers, rural providers, and providers working in Ryan White-funded programs. Physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, nurses, dental professionals, and clinical pharmacists are SEATEC's highest priority health professionals for training. They offer one-on-one clinical preceptorships, conferences, workshops, and resource materials.

The  Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center. is comprised of Emory University School of Medicine, the Rollins School of Public Health, the Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing, and Yerkes Regional Primate Research Center. The Health Sciences Center components dedicated to patient care delivery are incorporated in Emory Healthcare, the largest health care system in metropolitan Atlanta. The Emory PA Program has prepared over one thousand graduates for national and state certification as primary care physician assistants

Emory University School of Medicine, a component of Emory’s Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center, is ranked among the nation’s finest institutions for biomedical education. The School of Medicine is located on the main Emory University campus in the Druid Hills section of Atlanta and in Emory-owned and affiliated medical facilities throughout metropolitan Atlanta.