Skip Navigation


Celebration of Faculty Excellence

In 2014, Dean Larsen convened the Emory Medicine Recognitions Committee to expand and consolidate the awards and recognitions program as well as to track national award opportunities and coordinate the nomination process. The 4th Annual Celebration of Faculty Excellence Ceremony and Reception was held on October 18, 2017 and honored over 300 faculty members throughout the School of Medicine. Faculty were recognized for 2017 senior promotions, outstanding clinical service as well as awards and accomplishments on the regional, national and international levels. Congratulations!

2017 SOM Faculty Recognitions Week
2016 SOM Facutly Recognitions Week
2015 Promotions and Faculty Honorees

School of Medicine Mentoring Award

The SOM Mentoring Award, instituted in 2016, recognizes faculty who have demonstrated outstanding mentoring in the areas of education, service, and/or research to trainees or early career faculty during the past year. This award is presented at the annual Celebration of Faculty Excellence Ceremony.

2017 Awardees: Valerie Biousse, MD (Ophthalmology), Lawrence Boise, PhD (Hematology & Medical Oncology), Carlos del Rio, MD (Medicine), and Colleen Kraft, MD (Pathology & Laboratory Medicine)

Read more

School of Medicine Distinguished Service Award

The SOM Distinguished Service Award, instituted in 2017, recognizes faculty members who have demonstrated outstanding service and citizenship to the Emory community and/or Atlanta and surrounding region. This award is presented at the annual Celebration of Faculty Excellence Ceremony.

2017 Awardees: Mikhail Akbashev, MD (Medicine), Wendy Armstrong, MD (Medicine), Scott Boden, MD (Orthopaedics) and Paula Frew, PhD, MA, MPH (Medicine)

Read more

Dean’s Distinguished Faculty Lecture and Award

The Dean's Distinguished Faculty Lecture and Award is among the most prestigious and celebratory honors that the School of Medicine can bestow on a faculty member. 

2017 Awardee: Nancy J. Newman, MD
Professor of Ophthalmology and Neurology

Read More

Evangeline T. Papageorge Distinguished Teaching Award

The Evangeline Papageorge Distinguished Teaching Award recognizes excellence in the teaching of medical education and honors the legacy of Dr. Evangeline Papageorge 29G 37M. This award has become one of the most prestigious awards presented by the School of Medicine or Emory University.

2017 Awardee: Dr. Barbara Pettitt

Read More

Dean’s Teaching Award

Recipients are nominated by colleagues and students and chosen by the Teaching Awards Committee for their dedication to medical student teaching and their many contributions as course directors and mentors.

2017 Awardees:
Mary Dolan, MD (Gynecology & Obstetrics)
Adriana Hermida, MD
(Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences)
Kenneth Moberg, PhD (Cell Biology)
Marie Johanson, PhD, PT, OCS (Rehabilitation Medicine)
Stewart Neill, MD (Pathology & Laboratory Medicine)
J. Richard Pittman, MD (Medicine)
Ravi Rajani, MD (Surgery)
Parminder Suchdev, MD, MPH (Pediatrics)

Read More

Alumni Awards

  • The Award of Honor is conferred upon a medical alumna/alumnus who has demonstrated distinguished service to the Medical Alumni Association, to the Emory School of Medicine, to Emory University, or to the profession of medicine.

2016 Recipients: Drs. Wendy M Book & W. Schain Schley

  • The Distinguished Medical Achievement Award is conferred upon an individual who has achieved distinction in research, teaching, medical practice, or administration in an academic or public institution.

2016 Recipients: Drs. R. Wayne Alexander & William C. Warren IV

  • The Arnall Patz Lifetime Achievement Award honors distinguished alumni from the Emory School of Medicine who display extraordinary leadership and accomplishment in the field of medicine at the national or international level.

2016 Recipients: Drs. Armand Hendee & Luella Klein

Read More

Millipub Club

The MilliPub Club honors and recognizes current Emory faculty who have published one or more individual papers throughout their careers that have each garnered more than 1000 citations. Such a paper is commonly considered a “citation classic” and represents high impact scholarship. 

2017 Inductees:
Larry Anderson, MD (Pediatrics)
James Bailey, MD
Z. Georgia Chen, PhD
(Hematology & Medical Oncology)
Anastasios Costarides, MD
Walter Curran, MD
(Radiation Oncology)
Mark Czaja, MD
Carlos del Rio, MD
Raymond Dingledine, PhD
Scott Fridkin, MD
Haian Fu, PhD
Robert Guyton, MD
Jeong Hong, PhD
Neal Iwakoshi, PhD
Carlos Kase, MD
Donna Leef, MMSc
Susan Margulies, PhD
(Biomedical Engineering)
Helen Mayberg, MD
(Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences)
Ann Mertens, PhD
Andrew Miller, MD
(Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences)
Shuming Nie, PhD
(Biomedical Engineering)
Grayson Norquist, MD, MPH
(Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences)
Michael Phillips, MD
(Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences)
Martin Sanda, MD
Jonathan Sevransky, MD
Dong Moon Shin, MD
(Hematology & Medical Oncology)
Neil Shulman, MD
Stephen Traynelis, PhD
Stephen Warren, PhD
(Human Genetics)
Peter Wilson, MD
Hongjie Yuan, MD

Read More

Emory 1% Club

The Emory 1% Club honors and recognizes faculty who have received a 1% on an NIH grant.

2017 Inductees:
I. Raul Badell, MD (Surgery)
Max Cooper, MD
(Pathology & Laboratory Medicine)
Shawn Hochman, PhD
Marina Sorrentino Hernandes, PhD
Kiyoko Takemiya, MD, PhD
Wei Zhou, PhD
(Hematology & Medical Oncology)

Read More

Game Changers

Through their research innovations and scientific discoveries, Emory University School of Medicine faculty have profoundly transformed the understanding and practice of medicine across the world. These faculty embody an Emory tradition of service and excellence.

Read More

Post-doc Merit Awards (OPE)

2013 Awardees:
Jianxiong Jiang
Raul Andero Gali
Eric Vitriol
Xianofeng Yang

Faculty Mentor Award (GDBBS)

This award recognizes graduate faculty who demonstrate excellence in mentoring, advising and nurturing the careers of younger trainees or colleagues.

2015 Awardee: Malú Tansey, PhD