Skip Navigation

Current House Staff and HSO

About the House Staff Organization:

The Housestaff Organization (HSO) is the designated organization which represents all residents and fellows in graduate medical education training programs at Emory University School of Medicine and Affiliated Hospitals. The Organization is available to seek resolutions to issues that cannot be resolved within the training program, and will present and advocate Housestaff concerns to appropriate Graduate Medical Education, University, Hospital administrators, and other related parties.

Additionally, we coordinate with the graduate medical education office on advocacy, social, and other activities.

Housestaff organization is a strong advocate on behalf of the residents and fellows on salary and benefit issues.

All residents and fellows are automatic members of the HSO and are all welcome at all HSO meetings.

Emory House Staff Organization Officers: 

President:
Mike Kassin, MD PGY 3, Radiology - mkassin@emory.edu

Lead VP of Community:
Annie Morrison, PGY4 Pathology - annie.morrison@emory.edu 

VP of Community:
Katie St Germain, PGY3 Radiology - katie.ann.st.germain@emory.edu 
Katie Shaffer, PGY3 Internal Medicine - katherine.marie.shaffer@emory.edu 
Frank Corrigan, PGY4 Cardiology - frank.edward.corrigan@emory.edu 
Jose Rosa, PGY1 Emergency Medicine - jose.daniel.rosa@emory.edu 
Harjot Singh PGY2 Emergency Medicine - harjot.singh@emory.edu 


VP of Medical Innovation:
Jordan Amadio PGY5 Neurosurgery - jordan.amadio@emory.edu 

VP Medical Device Innovation:
Michael Shumski, PGY4 Ophthalmology - michael.joseph.shumski@emory.edu 

VP of Communications:
Natasha Demehri PGY3 Emergency Medicine - natasha.irani@emory.edu 

VP of Technology:
Christina Saikus, PGY3 Thoracic Surgery-Integrated - csaikus@emory.edu 

VP of Twitter:
John Lyons, PGY2 Surgery - jdlyons@emory.edu 

VP of Graduate Medical Education Policy:
Ivan DeQuesada PGY5 Radiology - ivan.dequesada@emory.edu 

VP of Policy:
Michael Kayatta PGY4, Thoracic Surgery-Integrated - mkayatt@emory.edu  
Shikha Kapil, PGY1 Emergency Medicine - shikha.kapil@emory.edu 

VP of Resident Relations:
Nick Panella PGY3 Otolaryngology - nick.panella@emory.edu
Robert Runner, PGY2 Orthopaedics - rrunner@emory.edu
Shawnay Mazell, PGY3 Neurology - shawnay.nicole.mazell@emory.edu
Ben DeMoss, PGY5 Cardiology - benjamin.demoss@emory.edu 

Stay up to date with House Staff Organization! Your one-stop-shop for all HSO and GME related issues.

Resident/Fellow Blackboard

Facebook - Emory HSO

HSO Website