Skip Navigation

Annual SOM Alumni Awards

Each year the SOM Alumni Association recognizes outstanding alumni for their contributions to Emory, the SOM, and the greater community. 

The Arnall Patz Lifetime Achievement Award honors distinguished alumni from the Emory SOM who display extraordinary leadership and accomplishment in the field of medicine at the national or international level.
Recipient: Thomas E. Whitesides, Jr., MD 52C 55M 57MR

The Distinguished Medical Achievement Award is granted to an individual who has achieved distinction in research, teaching, medical practice, or administration in an academic or public institution.
Recipient: Leigh R. Hochberg, MD, PhD 94M 99G 00MR

The Award of Honor is conferred upon a medical alumna or alumnus who has demonstrated distinguished service to the Medical Alumni Association, to the Emory SOM, to Emory University, or to the profession of medicine.
Recipient: Carter Smith, Jr., MD 56C 60M 66MR

All medical alumni are encouraged to submit nominations for next year’s awards by February 13, 2015. For more information or to to submit a nomination, contact Ruthy Cunningham at 404.727.5913 or

Alumni Awards

From left to right during the alumni awards celebration at Estate 3109 Piedmont:
Thomas E. Whitesides, Jr., MD 52C 55M 57MR, Arnall Patz Lifetime Achievement Award
Leigh R. Hochberg, MD, PhD 94M 99G 00MR, Distinguished Medical Achievement Award
Carter Smith, Jr., MD 56C 60M 66MR, Award of Honor