Emory Center for Experiential Learning (ExCEL)

The Emory Center for Experiential Learning (ExCEL) is located in the James P. Williams School of Medicine Building and includes both the Simulation Center and the Clinical Skills Center. The Center is a state-of-the-art facility encompassing over 15,000 square foot of educational space. ExCEL includes spaces for low-tech task trainers, sophisticated human patient simulators, and virtual reality equipment for surgical techniques.

Simulation rooms have the capacity for direct and remote observation and recording. Much of the equipment will be mobile allowing integration of experiential learning into the classroom and small group learning.

The Clinical Skills (OSCE) Center is used for standardized patient education, clinical skills education, physical diagnosis, assessment and other educational experiences. It contains four suites each of which contain a central debrief room with projection capability and 4 examinations rooms equipped with examination table and standard clinic equipment.

ExCEL is a resource for the entire School of Medicine. Currently numerous it is used by many of the school’s educational programs, residencies, fellowships, and faculty programs.

Douglas S. Ander, MD
Director, ExCEL Center
dander@emory.edu
404-727-8926

Kim Fugate
Associate Director, ExCEL Simulation Center
kim.fugate@emory.edu
404-727-8961

Gina Shannon
Associate Director, ExCEL Clinical Skills Center
gina.m.shannon@emory.edu
404-295-1776

Reginald Adams
Senior Program Associate, ExCEL Simulation Center
reginald.adams@emory.edu
404-727-8955

Jess Bowling
Senior Applications Support, ExCEL
jbowlin@emory.edu
404-712-8824

Connie Coralli
Testing & Development Specialist
ExCEL Clinical Skills Center
connie.coralli@emory.edu
404-712-9925

Alison Dean
BLS/ACLS Technology Specialist
ExCEL Simulation Center
alison.e.dean@emory.edu
404-727-2231

Deborah Laubscher
Program Coordinator, ExCEL Clinical Skills Center
deborah.laubscher@emory.edu
404-304-0618

Kelly O’Malley
Program Coordinator, ExCEL Clinical Skills Center
kelly.erwin@emory.edu
404-801-6664

Sherry Stewart
Program Coordinator, ExCEL Clinical Skills Center
sherry.stewart@emory.edu
404-309-6378

Last modified: 7/21/2017