Skip Navigation

School of Medicine New Faculty Welcome and Orientation

The 2014 New Faculty Orientation will be held on Monday, October 27th from 7:30 am -12:10 pm.  Registration will be available in the coming weeks.  

October 27, 2014
Winship Ballroom
Dobbs University Center (The DUC)

7:30 – 7:50 a.m. Introduction to Emory School of Medicine Christian P. Larsen, M.D. DPhil
Dean, Emory School of Medicine
7:50 – 8:10 a.m. Faculty Policies Joshua Barwick, J.D.
Associate Dean, Administration
School of Medicine
8:10 – 8:40 a.m. Promotion Process and Faculty Development Kathy Griendling, Ph.D.
Assistant Dean, Faculty Development
School of Medicine
8:40 – 9:00 a.m. Medical Education

J. William Eley, M.D., MPH
Executive Associate Dean, Medical Education
and Student Affairs School of Medicine

9:00 – 9:20 a.m. Institutional Review Board

Rebecca Rousselle, BA, CIP
Director, Institutional Review Board

9:20 – 9:35 a.m. Break
9:35 – 9:55 a.m. The Wellness Center Paula Gomes, Psy.D.
Executive Director, Facutly Staff Assistance Program
9:55 – 10:15 a.m. Woodruff Health Sciences Center Library Sandra G. Franklin, MLS, AHIP
Director, WHSCL
10:15 – 10:35 a.m. Faculty Time Records Constance Nagle
Assistant Dean, Business and Finance
School of Medicine
10:35 – 10:55 a.m. Research David S. Stephens, M.D.
Stephen W. Schwarzmann Distinguished Professor of Medicine
Chair, Department of Medicine
Vice President for Research, Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center
10:55 – 11:15 a.m. Clinical Affairs & The Emory Clinic

Douglas C. Morris, M.D.
Director, The Emory Clinic
J. Willis Hurst Professor of Medicine
Director, Emory Heart & Vascular Center

11:15 – 11:35 a.m. Reporting External Activities Helen McLaughlin, MBA
Assistant Dean, Administration
School of Medicine
11:35 – 11:55 a.m. Grady Memorial Hospital

Leon Haley, Jr., M.D.
Executive Associate Dean of Clinical Services, Grady Memorial Hospital
Chief Medical Officer, Emory Medical Care Foundation

11:55 – 12:05 p.m. Emory Medicine Philanthropy Update Margery  R. McKay
Vice President for Development
12:05 - 12:10 pm Concluding Remarks