Skip Navigation

Dean's Distinguished Faculty Lecture and Award

The Dean's Distinguished Faculty Lecture and Award is among the most prestigious and celebratory honors that the School of Medicine can bestow on a faculty member.  It carries not only the honor and title but also a substantial financial award for the faculty member. The occasion is meant to be one in which faculty from throughout the School come together to honor the recipient and express appreciation for his or her contributions.

Faculty are nominated by their peers, and judged by a School of Medicine selection committee that makes a final recommendation to the Dean. Nominees are judged on the significance and impact of the scholarly work, the academic ideals embodied by their careers, and their ability to deliver an exemplary lecture with broad appeal. 

Note that awardee titles are accurate as of the date of award receipt.



Eric Hunter, Ph.D.
Professor of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine


Nancy J. Newman, MD
Professor of Ophthalmology and Neurology 


Richard W. Compans, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology and Immunology


Leslee J. Shaw, Ph.D.
Professor of Medicine, Division of Cardiology


Kerry Ressler, M.D., Ph.D.
Investigator in the Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Affiliate Scientist in the Division of Neuroscience at Yerkes National Primate Research Center
Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences


Donald G. Stein, Ph.D.
Asa G. Candler Professor of Emergency Medicine and Distinguished Professor


Max D. Cooper, M.D. 
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine 
Eminent Scholar, Georgia Research Alliance 
Member, Emory Vaccine Center 


Steven Warren, Ph.D.
William P. Timmie Professor and Chair
Department of Human Genetics


Kathy Griendling, Ph.D.
Professor and Vice Chair for Research and Faculty Development
Department of Medicine


Christian P. Larsen, M.D., D.Phil.
Joseph Brown Whitehead Professor
Chairman, Department of Surgery


Raymond Schinazi, Ph.D.
Professor of Pediatrics and Chemistry
Director of the Laboratory of Biomedical Pharmacology


Rafi Ahmed, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology and Immunology
Director of Emory Vaccine Center

Harriet Robinson, Ph.D.
Asa Griggs Candler Professor of Microbiology and Immunology
Chief Division of Microbiology and Immunology


Mahlon DeLong, M.D.
Professor of Neurology
Former Chair, Department of Neurology