Skip Navigation

Evangeline T. Papageorge Distinguished Teaching Award

In 1993, the Evangeline Papageorge Distinguished Teaching Award was established by the Emory Medical Alumni Association under the leadership of Dr. William Waters 50C 58M 60MR.  This monetary award recognizes excellence in the teaching of medical education and honors the legacy of Dr. Evangeline Papageorge 29G 37M, beloved teacher and administrator who served Emory for many decades.  The award and honorarium are given each year during the School of Medicine's diploma ceremony to a medical faculty member whose intellectual luminosity has generated the greatest excitement about learning among students and colleagues.Without question, the Papageorge Award has become one of the most prestigious awards presented by the School of Medicine or Emory University.


  • 2017: Dr. Barbara Pettitt
  • 2016: Dr. Stacy Higgins
  • 2015: Dr. Wendy Armstrong
  • 2014: Dr. Nicholas Krawiecki
  • 2013: Dr. Ira Schwartz
  • 2012: Dr. Kimberly Manning
  • 2011: Dr. Douglas C. Parker 99M 03MR
  • 2010: Dr. Joyce P. Doyle
  • 2009: Dr. Lisa B. Bernstein 98MR
  • 2009: Dr. J. William Eley 79C 83M 86MR 89FM 90PH
  • 2007: Dr. Linton C. Hopkins III 73MR
  • 2006: Dr. David V. Feliciano
  • 2005: Dr. Bhagirath Majmudar
  • 2004: Dr. Nanette K. Wenger 59MR
  • 2003: Dr. John P. Pooler
  • 2002: Dr. Jonas A. Shulman
  • 2001: Dr. Joseph E. Hardison 56C 60M 65MR
  • 2000: Dr. John H. Stone 68MR
  • 1999: Dr. Joel M. Felner 74MR
  • 1998: Dr. Kyle W. Petersen
  • 1997: Dr. J. Richard Amerson 52M 56MR
  • 1996: Dr. H. Kenneth Walker 56OX 58C 63M 70MR
  • 1995: Dr. J. Willis Hurst
  • 1994: Dr. C. Whitaker Sewell 65C 69M 74MR
  • 1993: Dr. Jonas A. Shulman