Skip Navigation

Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine Graduates

Note that graduates' titles are accurate as of the date of their acceptance into the program.

Current Emory ELAM Fellow

Debra E. Houry, M.D., M.P.H.
Vice Chair for Research
Director, Center for Injury Control BSHE/RSPH

Dr. Houry was selected for the 2013-2014 ELAM class based on her outstanding accomplishments in leading clinical research in the Department of Emergency Medicine and her emerging leadership roles in the Provost's office. She was recruited to the Department of Medicine at Emory in 2002, with a joint appointment in the Rollins School of Public Health, and quickly moved into a leadership role as Associate Director of the Emory Center for Injury Control, becoming director four years later. Dr. Houry became the Vice Chair for Research in 2009, and also serves as the Director of the Injury Control Fellowship program, co-Director of the Clinical Research Fellowship and Faculty Director for the university-wide Academic Leadership Program.

One of Dr. Houry's singular accomplishments was to compete successfully to bring a funded Injury Control Research Center to Emory (ECIC). This center is one of three U.S. Collaborating Centers with the World Health Organization.

Previous Emory graduates of ELAM:

Erica Brownfield, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
Assistant Dean for Education

Angela Caliendo, M.D., Ph.D., Associate Professor
President, University Senate Chair, Faculty Council
Vice Chair for Clinical Pathology
Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

Penny Castellano, M.D.
Associate Professor of Gynecology and Obstetrics
Chief Medical Officer for Clinical Operations, The Emory Clinic
Chief Quality Officer, The Emory Clinic

Kathy Griendling, Ph.D.
Professor and Vice Chair for Research and Faculty Development Department of Medicine
Assistant Dean for Faculty Development
Kate Heilpern, M.D.
Professor and Chair
Department of Emergency Medicine

Sheryl Heron, M.D. M.P.H.
Associate Professor
Department of Emergency Medicine
Assistant Dean for Medical Education and Student Affairs

Nadine Kaslow, Ph.D.
Professor and Vice Chair for Faculty Development
Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Lian Li, Ph.D.
Professor and Vice Chair
Department of Pharmacology

Carolyn Meltzer, M.D.
W. P. Timmie Professor and Chair
Department of Radiology
Associate Dean for Research