Emory & VA Org Charts and Contact Information

Organizational Charts

Emory

Atlanta VAMC

Emory Department Links

Atlanta VAMC Contact Information 

Outpatient Services Service Line

Chief, Outpatient Flow: Sanjay Ponkshe, MD
sanjay.ponkshe@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 3965

Primary Care

Chief of Primary Care: Raman Damineni, MD
Raman.Damineni@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 2096

Administrative Officer, Primary Care: Laurin Word
Laurin.Word2@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 3223

Inpatient Flow, Clinical Informatics, Social Work Service Line

Chief, Inpatient Flow: Norberto Fas, MD
Norberto.Fas@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 5390

NVCC Clinical: Rafael Paoli-Bruno, MD
Rafael.Paoli-Bruno@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 6624

Surgical & Perioperative Care Service Line

Chief, Department of Surgery:  Atef Salam, MD
atef.salam@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 7776

Administrative Officer, Department of Surgery: Joe Taylor
joseph.taylor3@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 6265

Vascular Surgery

Division Director, Cardiothoracic Surgery:  Atef Salam, MD
atef.salam@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 7776

Orthopedics

Chief, Orthopedics:  John Louis-Ugbo, MD
John.Louis-Ugbo@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 4328

Cardiothoracic

Chief, Cardiothoracic Surgery: Felix Fernandez, MD
Felix.Fernandez@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 7088

General 

Chief, General Surgery: Ashley Slappy, MD
Ashley.Slappy@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 4940

Plastic

Chief, Plastic Surgery: Mark Walsh, MD
Mark.Walsh@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 6923

Neurosurgery

Chief, Neurosurgery: David Adamson, MD
David.Adamson@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 7181

Urology

Chief, Urology: Muta Issa, MD
MMIssa@aol.com
(404) 728-7600 Ext 5077

Ophthalmology

Chief, Ophthalmology: Stephen Urken, MD
Steven.Urken@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 6660

Clinic Manager, Ophthalmology: Cheryl Boudreaux
Cheryl.Boudreaux@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 7405

OB/GYN

Chief, OB/GYN: Jenny Goedken, MD
Jennifer.Goedken@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 7502

Otolaryngology

Chief, Otolaryngology: Carrie Flanagan, MD
Carrie.Flanagan@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 6299

Anesthesiology Service Line

Chief, Anesthesiology: James Blum, MD
James.Blum@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 6270

Administrative Officer, Anesthesiology: Faye Proctor
Faye.Proctor@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 5971

Medical Specialty Care Service Line

Chief of Medicine: Mark Nanes, MD
Mark.Nanes@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 3001

Administrative Officer, Department of Medicine: Melanie Lewis
Melanie.Lewis2@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 7030

Emergency Medicine

Chief, Emergency Room: Robert Forster, MD
Robert.Forster@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 1508

Hematology & Oncology

Chief, Hematology & Oncology: Maria Ribeiro, MD
Maria.Ribeiro@va.gov
(404) 728-7680

Administrator, Hematology & Oncology: Jenise Spil
Jenise.Spil@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 6581

Dermatology

Chief, Dermatology: Robert Swerlick, MD
Robert.Swerlick@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 3317

Endocrinology

Assistant Chief of Medicine Chief of Endocrinology: Peter Thule, MD
Peter.Thule@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 2079

Cardiology

Chief, Cardiology: Mazlar Zafari, MD
Maziar.Zafari@va.gov
(404) 327-4019 x4019

Gastroenterology

Chief, Gastroenterology: Shanthi Srinivasan, MD
Shanthi.Srinivasan@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 6630

Administrator, Gastroenterology: Trinette Pichon
TrinetteA.Pichon@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 6584

Hospitalist

Chief, Hospitalist Program: Scott Steinbach, MD
Scott.Steinbach@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 2087

Infectious Diseases

Chief, Infectious Diseases: Abeer Moanna, MD
Abeer.Moanna@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 2093

Nephrology/Renal Medicine

Chief, Nephrology/Renal/Dialysis: Lynn Schlanger, MD
Lynn.Schlanger@va.gov<
(404) 321-2111 Ext 2316

Pulmonary & Respiratory

Chief, Pulmonary & Respiratory: Ruxana Sadikot, MD
Ruxana.Sadikot2@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 3131

Sleep Medicine

Chief, Sleep Medicine: Octavian Ioachimescu, MD
Octavian.Ioachimescu@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 7258

Rheumatology

Chief, Rheumatology: Karen Atkinson, MD
Karen.Atkinson@va.gov

Podiatry

Chief, Podiatry: Richard Odom, MD
Richard.Odom@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 6294

Compensation & Pension

Radiology Service Line

Chief, Radiology: Karen Shoffner, MD
Karen.Shoffner@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 6740

Administrative Officer, Radiology: Sally Vaughn
Sally.Vaughn@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 7618

Pathology & Laboratory Service Line

Chief, Pathology: Craig Campus, MD
Craig.Campus@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 2060

Chief Medical Technologist & Administrative Officer, Pathology: Steve Ugbo
Steve.Ugbo@va.gov
(404) 235-3009 x3009

Mental Health Inpatient Services Service Line

Chief, Dept. of Mental Health: Bekh Bradley-Davino, MD
Bekh-Bradley-Davino@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 5175

Administrative Assistant, Mental Health: Joyce DaValt
Joyce.Davalt@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 5175

The Mental Health Service Line includes:

  • Psychiatry
  • Trauma / Recovery
  • Mental Health Intensive Care Management
  • Substance Abuse Treatment Program
  • General Mental Health
  • Primary Care Mental Health Integration
  • Domiciliary Rehabilitation Treatment Program

Geriatrics & Extended Care (GEC) Service Line

Chief, Geriatrics and Extended Care Service Line: Sharon H. Polensek, MD, PhD
Sharon.Polensek@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 7170

Administrative Assistant: Geraldine Moore
(404) 321-2111 Ext 2677
geraldine.moore2@va.gov

Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation

Chief, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation: Laura Lee, MD
laura.lee@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 6670

Rehabilitation Medicine Program Specialist: Shenia Moore
shenia.moore@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 3046

Neurology

Chief, Neurology: Vacant

Traumatic Brain Injury

Medical Director, TBI: David Travillion, MD
David.Travillion@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 3395

TBI Program Coordinator: Inge Thomas, MD
Inge.Thomas@va.gov
(404) 329-4654 Ext 4654

Bronze Clinic

Chief, Bronze Clinic: Thomas Price, MD
(404) 321-2111 Ext 6530
thomas.price@va.gov

Program Specialist: Christopher Billings
(404) 321-2111 Ext 5186
christopher.billings2@va.gov

Audiology / Speech Pathology

Chief, Audiology & Speech Pathology: Sean McClenney, MD
(404) 321-2111 Ext 2385
sean.mcclenney@va.gov

Program Specialist: Tiffany Walden
(404) 321-2111 Ext 5143
tiffany.walden@va.gov

Community Living Center

Medical Director, CLC: Kim House, MD
(404) 321-2111 Ext 6893

Contract Nursing Home Care

Community Care Coordinator, CNH: Clara Glover
(404) 353-4486

GRECC / SCOE

Atlanta Site Director: Ted Johnson III, MD
(404) 321-6111 Ext 7775

Director, Cognitive Disorders COE: Anne Tomolo, MD
(404) 321-2111 Ext 4602

Home Based Primary Care

Medical Director, HBPC: Deslyn Olunuga
(404) 321-2111 Ext 6785

Program Director: Ora Douglass
(404) 321-2111 Ext 3037

Program Specialist: Denise Roane
(404) 321-2111 Ext 4335

Physical Therapy

Chief, Physical Therapy: Barbara Harris
(404) 321-2111 Ext 7683

Occupantional/Recreational Therapy

Chief, Occupational Therapy: Rosemary McGinty
(404) 321-2111 Ext 6692

Spinal Cord Injury Program 

Medical Director, SCI: Anurupa Damineni, MD
(404) 321-2111 Ext 6485

Palliative & Supportive Care

Chief, Palliative & Supportive Care: Tammie Quest, MD
(404) 321-2111 Ext 7281

Program Specialist: Shamorrow Johnson
(404) 321-2111 Ext 2968

Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation

Chief, PM&R: Laura Lee, MD
(404) 321-2111 Ext 6677

Program Specialist: Shenia Moore
(404) 321-2111 Ext 3046

Carrollton Veteran's Village Service Line

Physician Manger: Robert Norvell, MD

Physician Manager (Acting): Jamya Pittman, MD
Jamya.Pittman@va.gov
(404) 321-2111 Ext 2625