Emory Urology eNews - Summer 2018

Email is not displaying correctly? View it in your browser.
Emory Urology eNews - Summer 2018

Emory Urologists Awarded Prestigious Grants

Christopher Filson, MD, MS, and Akanksha Mehta, MD, MS, both assistant professors of urology of the Emory University School of Medicine, were recently awarded prestigious grants for their research proposals. Dr. Filson's grant was awarded by the American Cancer Society for his research on optimal use of MRI-guided prostate biopsy for prostate cancer detection, and Dr. Mehta received her grant from the American Society of Reproductive Medicine to support her investigation of barriers and facilitators of optimal care for male factor infertility. Dr. Filson and Dr. Mehta are co-directors of the Health Services Research Core of the Clinical Research Unit in the Emory Department of Urology.

Read More
Emory Urology Well Represented at 82nd SESAUA Meeting

Faculty, residents, and research staff of the Department of Urology were key participants at the 82nd Annual Meeting of the Southeastern Section of the American Urological Association, held in Orlando, FL, March 2018. Chad Ritenour, MD, Professor, was selected to serve in the 2018-2019 SESAUA Executive Committee, as the Chair of the Committee on Education and Science. Awards received by Emory Urology include Dr. Mehrdad Alemozaffar for best video, Mohammed said, PGY-3 resident, was winner of resident bowl, and Dr. Louis Aliperti, PGY-4 resident, received 3rd place in the 2018 Montague Boyd Essay Contest.

Read More
Dr. Pearle as Visiting Professor at Emory Urology and the Advances in Urology Course

The Department of Urology at Emory University was honored to have Dr. Margaret S. Pearle, MD PhD, Professor of Urology at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, as the Visiting Professor in December 2017. She was also guest faculty at the Advances in Urology Course held by the Department of Urology at Emory University. Dr. Pearle is recognized as a national and international leader in the field of Endourology. 

Read More

2018-2023 Emory Urology Residents

The Department of Urology at Emory University is pleased to announce the incoming class of resident staff. Out of the many highly qualified applicants, the following four were matched to be Emory Urology's Class of 2023 Residents: Callan Brownfield, Emory University (1st from left in photo); Sameer Farooq, Boston University (2nd from left); Jonathan Li, University of Michigan (3rd from left); and Michelle Sheng, Jefferson Medical College (far right).
Department Holds 4th Annual Research Retreat at Carlos Museum
The Department of Urology held its 4th Annual Research Retreat at the Michael C. Carlos Museum on March 2nd, 2018. The event showcased the department’s diverse research interests and hosted a Best Poster competition for residents and medical students. Members of the faculty gave presentations on their latest research projects. Dr. Mark Henry, PGY-3 resident, won best poster for his work on “Rising Incidence of Node-Positive Prostate Cancer Among Men Treated with Radical Prostatectomy.”
Emory Urology Upcoming Events

Department of Urology Graduation and Awards Dinner
June 22 
Magnolia Hall
1320 Monroe Dr NE
Atlanta, GA 30306

Donate Today

Past Newsletter Issues

Emory Home | Emory News Center | Give to Emory | Contact Emory