Skip Navigation

Quality Improvement and Patient Safety Track

Director(s):

Track Announcement

Key Components

Topics To Be Covered

Application Process

2017 Cohort

Goals, Learning Objectives, & Outcome

Goals:

This 24-month track will support residents & fellows to gain the knowledge, skills, and methods necessary to: (a) become leaders in healthcare system's quality and safety committees, initiatives, and activities and (b) prepare them for careers in this field.

Learning Objectives:

  1. To obtain knowledge in quality improvement methods

  2. To apply quality improvement methods to a healthcare gap in quality

  3. To identify system failures and medical errors in health systems and report them in the appropriate hospital error reporting system.

Outcome:

Upon completion of the track, residents will be awarded a certificate of completion and graduate with a distinction in Quality Improvement and Patient Safety from Emory University School of Medicine.

Key Components

Quality Improvement and Patient Safety Track Components

Application Process

Participation will be restricted to residents and fellows at the PGY-2 or higher level. Applications are due in the Spring (deadline of April 30) and are open to residents or fellows who will be PGY-2 or higher level as of July 1 of the same year.


The application must include the following components:

Each year, please submit your application to Dr. Adam Webb at awebb03@emory.edu no later than April 30 for consideration in the cohort starting in July. 

2017-2019 Cohort

Name: Steve Tucker

Email: shtucke@emory.edu

Specialty: Ophthalmology

QI-PS Interests:

Medicine is a wonderful field where practitioners can use their knowledge and skills to help patients. However, I have learned that systems practices and quality improvement science is necessary to decrease error rates and provide the best patient care possible. This curriculum is helping me to improve not only my methods and practices but also provides me an opportunity to pass these practices on to both colleagues and future work settings.

Maria Braileanu
Diagnostic Radiology
maria.braileanu@emory.edu

Vanessa Cousins
Emergency Medicine
vanessa.cousins@emory.edu

Jake Gissy
Anesthesiology
jacob.james.gissy@emory.edu

Vicky Melanson
Anesthesiology
v.g.melanson@emory.edu

2017-2019

Martine "Lory" Camille Ridore
Emergency Medicine
martine.ridore@emory.edu

Anna Trofimova
Diagnostic Radiology
anna.trofimova@emory.edu

Mohamad Raad
Internal Medicine
mohamad.raad@emory.edu

Chengcheng "Cindy" Ye
Internal Medicine
chengcheng.ye@emory.edu