Skip Navigation

Office of Medical Education and Student Affairs (OMESA)

The School of Medicine Office of Medical Education and Student Affairs (OMESA), located on the 3rd floor of the James B. Williams School of Medicine Administration building at 100 Woodruff Circle, is concerned with curriculum, admissions, clinical education, multicultural affairs, financial aid, academic counseling, grades and evaluations, academic progress and promotions, student life and student advocacy, tutoring, National Board examinations including USMLE examinations and overall student welfare.

Faculty and Staff Administrators

J. William Eley, M.D., M.P.H.

Executive Associate Dean
Medical Education and Student Affairs
jeley@emory.edu | 404-712-9979 | Full Profile >>

Joel M. Felner, M.D.

Associate Dean
Clinical Education
jflenter@emory.edu | 404-727-9876 | Full Profile >>

Robert Lee, Ph.D.

Associate Dean
and Director of Multicultural Medical Student Affairs
robert.lee@emory.edu | 404-727-0016 | Full Profile >>

Ira K. Schwartz, M.D.

Associate Dean for Student Affairs
and Director of Admissions
ischwar@emory.edu | 404-727-5660 | Full Profile >>

Douglas S. Ander, M.D.

Associate Dean
Medical Education, Director of ExCEL
dander@emory.edu | 404-251-8828 | Full Profile >>

Sheryl L. Heron, M.D., M.P.H.

Associate Dean
Clinical Education
sheron@emory.edu | 404-251-8865 | Full Profile >>

Margo Kuisis

Director
Office of Medical Education and Student Affairs
mkuisis@emory.edu | 404-712-8417

Student Affairs

June Eddingfield

Associate Director
Office of Admissions
jedding@emory.edu | 404-727-8454

Mary Kaye Garcia

Associate Director
Registration and Student Affairs
marykaye.garcia@emory.edu | 404-712-9921

Mike Behler

Associate Director
Financial Aid, Scholarships and Student Affairs
mbehler@emory.edu | 404-727-5683

Yolanda Hood

Associate Director
Multicultural Medical Student Affairs
yhood@emory.edu | 404-727-0602

Matthew Scott

Assistant Director
Clinical Medical Education and Student Affairs
matt.scott@emory.edu

Danny Thompson

Assistant Director, Student Affairs
dthompson@emory.edu 

Medical Education

Gordon Churchward, Ph.D.

Assistant Dean
Medical Education and Student Affairs
gordon.churchward@emory.edu | 404-727-2538 | Full Profile >>

Erica Brownfield, M.D., FACP

Assistant Dean
Medical Education
ebrownf@emory.edu | 404-778-1613 | Full Profile >>

Hugh A. Stoddard, M.Ed, Ph.D

Assistant Dean
Medical Education
hugh.stoddard@emory.edu  404-727-8451

Connie Coralli

Associate Director
OSCE Clinical Skills Center
ccorall@emory.edu | 404-712-9925

Kim Fugate

Associate Director
SOM Simulation Lab
kim.fugate@emory.edu | 404-727-8961

Medical Education Contact Information

Office of Medical Education and Student Affairs - (404) 727-5655

Office of Admissions - (404) 727-5660

Office of Clinical Education & Visiting Students - (404) 778-1372

Emory University School of Medicine - 100 Woodruff Circle, Atlanta, GA 30322

Woodruff Health Sciences Center, 1440 Clifton Road, NE, Atlanta, GA 30322

Resources